Broad Ripple Random Ripplings
search menu
The news from Broad Ripple
Brought to you by The Broad Ripple Gazette
Subscribe to Broad Ripple Random Ripplings
Sponsored by:
Ad for Howald Heating & Air Ad for RandomRipplings.com Ad for Kenney Insurance

Everything Broad Ripple HomearrowRandom Ripplings Homearrow2020 10 08arrowColumn

back button return to index button next button
Ann Katz Festival of Books & Arts - by Mario Morone
by Mario Morone
posted: Oct. 08, 2020

The Jewish Community Center's 22nd annual Ann Katz Festival of Books & Arts (all-virtual this year) is October 25 to November 22. The events are made possible with funding from the Irwin and Ann Katz Cultural Arts & Education Endowment Fund and major festival sponsors, The Herbert Simon Family Foundation, Lilly Endowment Inc., The National Bank of Indianapolis, Katz Sapper & Miller and the Christel DeHaan Family Foundation.
Lev Rothenberg, JCC Director of Arts and Education, said, "This year the Festival is all virtual. Attendees can enjoy one or all authors, films and performances without leaving their homes. Links will be provided to ticket holders shortly before each event. Most events are $10 per household unless noted otherwise; several events also offer the purchase of a book. Attendees may also purchase a $60 Festival Pass, which is good for general admission to all 16 events. This does not include books. Households need only one pass each. There is more information and tickets at: JCCindy.org/festival-books-arts."
Some of the authors include: Harlan Coben, author of The Boy from the Woods (Sunday, October 25 at 8 p.m., $10 for ticket only, $23 for ticket plus paperback copy of the book). With over 70 million books in print worldwide, Harlan Coben is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of more than 30 fast-paced, witty, skillfully crafted suspense novels. His latest, The Boy from the Woods, is a shocking thriller in which a man with a mysterious past must find a missing teenage girl. Coben is also creator and executive producer of several Netflix dramas (some of which are adaptations of his books), including The Stranger, Safe and The Woods. He will be in conversation with litigator-turned-#1 New York Times bestselling women's fiction author Emily Giffin. This event is presented in partnership with the JCC Literary Consortium, a group of several JCCs from around the country.

Author Harlan Coben
Author Harlan Coben
image courtesy of Olivier Vigerie


Joan Lunden (former Good Morning America host), author of Why Did I Come Into This Room? A Candid Conversation About Aging on Sunday, November 8 at 8 p.m. ($10 for ticket only, $36 for ticket plus a copy of the book with signed bookplate). Acclaimed broadcast journalist and baby boomer Joan Lunden delves into the various phases of aging that leave many feeling uncomfortable, confused and on edge. She goes where others fear, openly talking about wrinkles, age spots, expanding waistlines, changes in sex drive, ageism and more. Through her poignant and often hilarious personal experiences, Lunden candidly shares her anxieties, breakthroughs and how she's coping with the physical, mental and emotional realities of aging. This event is presented in partnership with the JCC Literary Consortium.

Why Did I Come Into This Room by Joan Lunden
Why Did I Come Into This Room by Joan Lunden
image courtesy of JCC Indy


Dale Berra, former MLB baseball player and author of My Dad, Yogi: A Memoir of Family and Baseball (Tuesday, November 10 at 8 p.m., $10 for ticket only or $24 for ticket plus paperback copy of the book). My Dad, Yogi is Dale's tribute to his famous dad - a treat for baseball fans and a poignant story for fathers and sons everywhere. From Dale's boyhood firsthand look at the Major Leagues at his father's side to his ascendancy as a player himself and eventual fall from grace due to a major cocaine scandal involving some of the biggest names in baseball, Yogi was there for him through it all.

Author Dale Berra
Author Dale Berra
image courtesy of Jane Berra


Michael Ian Black, comedian and author of A Better Man: A (Mostly Serious) Letter to My Son, and Cleo Stiller, author of Modern Manhood: Conversations About the Complicated World of Being a Good Man Today (Wednesday, November 18 at 8 p.m., $10 for ticket only, $32 for ticket plus one book or $50 for ticket plus both books). Michael Ian Black is an actor (This is 40, Wet Hot American Summer), comedian and writer His latest, A Better Man, is written as a letter to his college-bound son in which he explores the damage caused by the expectations placed on boys to "man up." Cleo Stiller is a Peabody Award-nominated, Emmy Award-nominated and Gracie Award-winning reporter obsessed with exploring stories about health, gender and technology among millennials.
Rachel Bloom, Golden Globe and Emmy-winning creator/star of TV's Crazy Ex-Girlfriend and author of I Want to Be Where the Normal People Are on Saturday, November 21 at 8 p.m. ($36 includes ticket and a copy of the book). In the vein of Mindy Kaling, Ali Wong and Amy Poehler, the charming and wickedly funny Bloom has penned a collection of hilarious, smart and infinitely relatable personal essays, poems and even amusement park maps on the subjects of insecurity, fame, anxiety and much more.

Author Rachel Bloom
Author Rachel Bloom
image courtesy of Google


Melissa Clark, New York Times Food section staff reporter and cookbook author speaks on Sunday, November 22 at 2 p.m. (FREE for ticket only or $30 for ticket plus a copy of Kid in the Kitchen). Melissa Clark writes the "A Good Appetite" column and appears in weekly cooking videos for The New York Times, is a regular guest on the Today show, Rachael Ray and NPR's The Splendid Table, has judged Iron Chef America, is a James Beard Award winner and has written 42 cookbooks, including collaborations with celebrated chefs like Daniel Boulud. Her latest, Kid in the Kitchen, is a collection of 100 all-new recipes for a new audience of home chefs: kids ages 8-14.

New York Times Food section staff reporter Melissa Clark
New York Times Food section staff reporter Melissa Clark
image courtesy of Amy Dickerson


The mission of the JCC of Indianapolis is, "Guided by Jewish values and traditions, we provide inclusive experiences that lead to personal growth and community building. Together, we inspire all people to become the best versions of themselves." Established in Indianapolis in 1914, the JCC is located on the north side of Indianapolis at Arthur M. Glick JCC at 6701 Hoover Road. It is a beneficiary agency of the Jewish Federation of Greater Indianapolis and United Way of Central Indiana, and an affiliate member of the JCC Association of North America.
Through their philanthropy, the legacy of Ann and Irv Katz continues to educate, enlighten and inform the public of their rich culture and heritage, made possible through the Jewish Community Center.


mario@broadripplegazette.com
back button return to index button next button
Sponsored by:
Ad for Angie Mercer Insurance Ad for Broad Ripple State Farm Ad for Pawn Shop Pub
Sponsored by:
Ad for Broad Ripple Brewpub Ad for RandomRipplings.com Ad for Broad Ripple collector pins